Guest Artists

The composition area frequently hosts guest composers, sound artists, and performers for lectures, masterclasses, workshops, lessons, and performances. This is an opportunity for students to learn from leading artists and to network and connect with diverse musicians from around the world. Recent and upcoming guests include:

Composers & Sound Artists (since 2016)

Pascal Le Boeuf | composer

Sage Jenson  | sound/visual artist/composer

Robert Beaser | composer

Miya Masaoka | composer, improviser, & koto player

James Lee III | composer

Andy Akiho | composer

Alex Temple | composer

Kevin Puts | composer

Robert Alexander | sonification specialist

Christopher Cerrone | composer

Viet Cuong | composer

John Mackey | composer

Julio d'Escriván  |  composer

Andrea Clearfield | composer

Carter Pann | composer

Jennifer Jolley | composer

Steven Bryant | composer

Paquito D'Rivera | composer & saxophonist

Gabriela Lena Frank | composer

John Corigliano | composer

Lisa Coons | composer & sound artist

Jim Bonney | composer & interactive media

Performers (since 2016)

The Westerlies  | brass quartet

So Percussion  | percussion quartet

Khemia Ensemble  | contemporary music chamber ensemble

Harlem Quartet  |  string quartet

Hub New Music  |  contemporary music chamber ensemble

eighth blackbird  |  contemporary music chamber ensemble

Manuel Alejandro Rangel | maracas player

Crystal Mooncone | electroacoustic free-improvisation trio

Momenta Quartet | string quartet

Fifth House Ensemble | contemporary music ensemble

Brooklyn Rider | string quartet

Mimi Stillman and Charles Abramovic | flute & piano duo

yMusic | contemporary music chamber ensemble

Robert Simonds | violinst

Arcomusical | Afro-Brazilian berimbau ensemble

Roomful of Teeth | vocal ensemble